Laona Heights Sugar River Colored Sands Sugar River Two Rivers Ferguson Hartley Memorial Trask Bridge Four Lakes Pecatonica River Pecatonica Wetlands Crooked River Grove Creek Seward Bluffs Klehm Forest Preserve Severson Dells Fuller Memorial Cedar Cliff Indian Hill Hinchliff Memorial Kilbuck Bluffs Trailside Kishwaukee Gorge South Kishwaukee Gorge North Rockford Rotary Kishwaukee River Oak Ridge Blackhawk Springs Deer Run Espenscheid Memorial McKiski County Line Kieselburg Roland Olson Stone Bridge Clayton Andrews Ledges Hononegah J. Norman Jensen Millrace Isle Macktown Atwood Homestead Forest Preserve Headquarters


Since December 2010, the Forest Preserve District has been governed by an independent elected Board of Commissioners. As of December 2018, they include:
Judith Barnard, 2203 N. Church St., Rockford, IL 61103 –
Jake Henry, 4125 Oaklane Rd., Rockford, IL 61109 –
Mike Eickman, 11114 Harrison Rd., Rockton, IL 61072 –
Audrey L. Johnson, 4260 Sunset Terrace #205, Loves Park, IL 61111 –
Gloria Lind, 1122 Greenwood Ave., Rockford, IL 61107 –
Cheryl A. Maggio, 6351 Dandbridge Blvd., Rockford, IL 61103 –
Jeff Tilly, 3150 Durham Court, Rockford, IL 61109 –

The Forest Preserve District encompasses the county. The District is a legally separate organization and therefore retains a separate taxing authority and fiscal year than the County. The Board of Commissioners works closely with staff to study forest preserve issues and challenges and develop strategies to meet its mission. Jeff Tilly serves as Forest Preserve District Commission President. The Board of Commissioners is responsible for addressing priorities of long-range planning, approving budgets and developing policies for the District’s facilities. FPWC Commissioners are non-partisan volunteers who are elected at large. Please check the  News Updates section of the FPWC home page for any changes to the meeting schedule.

2020 Schedule of Board of Commissioners Meetings

Forest Preserves of Winnebago County Headquarters, 5:30 PM in the Conference Room, 5500 Northrock Drive, Rockford 61103 3rd Wednesday of each month January 15, February 19, March 18, April 15, May 20, June 17,  July 15, August 19, September 16, October 21, November 18, December 16. Anyone wishing to speak at a Board meeting must submit a request to speak in writing to the President by noon on the day of the meeting. Request must include name, address and subject matter. Requests may be relayed through District office at above address; or at; or by fax 815-877-6124.


Environmental Impacts of the Great Lakes Railroad


In 2013 the Forest Preserves of Winnebago county completed a four-year strategic plan to guide allocations, programming and decision making. Click here for FPWC Core Values and 2014-2017 Strategic Plan Goals. Check back here for quarterly update reports on the activities that have been implemented to achieve the goals of the strategic plan.


In 2015 the Land Advisory Council developed seven criteria to guide and prioritize future land acquisitions.  This tool helps the Land Advisory Council evaluate prospective acquisitions and make a recommendation to the FPWC Board of Commissioners. View the FPWC Strategic Land Conservation Plan which guides land acquisition and development.