Laona Heights Sugar River Colored Sands Sugar River Two Rivers Ferguson Hartley Memorial Trask Bridge Four Lakes Pecatonica River Pecatonica Wetlands Crooked River Grove Creek Seward Bluffs Klehm Forest Preserve Severson Dells Fuller Memorial Cedar Cliff Indian Hill Hinchliff Memorial Kilbuck Bluffs Trailside Kishwaukee Gorge South Kishwaukee Gorge North Rockford Rotary Kishwaukee River Oak Ridge Blackhawk Springs Deer Run Espenscheid Memorial McKiski County Line Kieselburg Roland Olson Stone Bridge Clayton Andrews Ledges Hononegah J. Norman Jensen Millrace Isle Macktown Atwood Homestead Forest Preserve Headquarters


Forest Preserves of Winnebago County 2019-2020 Budget


The Forest Preserve District derives its working capital from two primary sources.  The District’s tax levy is distributed into the corporate, debt service, botanic garden, retirement, liability reserve and development funds.  The 2019-2020 tax rate is expected to be .10440 cents per one hundred dollars of assessed real estate valuation, which means that the Forest Preserve District has the lowest tax rate of any taxing body within Winnebago County.

The second source of income is the service fees generated by campgrounds, shelterhouses, equestrian trails, golf courses, etc. The District also utilizes private, federal and state grant programs to supplement its funds for land acquisition and development.  Since its inception, the District has been awarded nearly three million dollars in land acquisition grants from the State of Illinois OSLAD (Open Space Land Acquisition and Development) program and other programs. The District also receives funds through programs such as the Department of Natural Resources to fund construction of canoe launches, trails, parking and restroom facilities.

2019-2020 Budget

2018-2019 Budget

Total Compensation Package Information