Laona Heights Sugar River Colored Sands Sugar River Two Rivers Ferguson Hartley Memorial Trask Bridge Four Lakes Pecatonica River Pecatonica Wetlands Crooked River Grove Creek Seward Bluffs Klehm Forest Preserve Severson Dells Fuller Memorial Cedar Cliff Indian Hill Hinchliff Memorial Kilbuck Bluffs Trailside Kishwaukee Gorge South Kishwaukee Gorge North Rockford Rotary Kishwaukee River Oak Ridge Blackhawk Springs Deer Run Espenscheid Memorial McKiski County Line Kieselburg Roland Olson Stone Bridge Clayton Andrews Ledges Hononegah J. Norman Jensen Millrace Isle Macktown Atwood Homestead Forest Preserve Headquarters

Board of Commissioner Minutes Aug. 22

Winnebago County Forest Preserve District
District Headquarters
August 22, 2012

Randy Olson – President Tom Kalousek, Executive Director
Judy Barnard Vaughn Stamm, Preserve Operations
Mary McNamara Bernsten Mike Durand, Golf Operations
Audrey Johnson Tom Hartley, Land and Development
Lee Johnson Jamie Johannsen, Marketing
Gloria Lind Judi Day, Budget and Personnel
Cheryl Maggio Steve Chapman, Finance
Mike Scheurich, Attorney
Lori McGirk, Attorney
Virginia Schmidt Stanley Campbell Bill & Rose Corey
Judy Schultz Joanne Webster Helen Yetterberg
Lynda Johnson Nancy Johnson Carol Gustafson
Ross Ellison Phyllis & Terry Hall Martin Peterson
Larry Gustafson Jeff Tilly

The meeting was called to order at 5:35 PM. Recording secretary Judi Day called the roll. All present.

Randy Olson led the assemblage in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Minutes for August 8 were approved. Mary McNamara Bernsten moved to amend the minutes for July 18. She requested that “Issues of Governance” be listed under New Business and that the following wording in the minutes be changed: From – “Mary McNamara Bernsten made a motion before the Board and asked President Randy Olson for his resignation” To – “Mary McNamara Bernsten called for the removal of President Randy Olson from office.” Audrey Johnson seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously. Minutes for July 18, 2012 will be changed accordingly.

Judy Barnard moved to amend the agenda to include the resolution she presented under New Business on July 18 to defund the position of Director of Public Safety and Risk Management. Randy Olson replied that it had been removed from the proposed agenda on the grounds that it was not in the proper form, since it required a budget amendment. Judy asked the attorneys present for a Point of Order. Mike Scheurich replied that, since it was not formally on the agenda, it could not be acted upon.

Removal of President – Mary McNamara Bernsten moved and Lee Johnson seconded to remove Randy Olson from his office of President of the Board of Commissioners. Before a roll call was taken, Gloria Lind asked Randy to resign. He refused. A roll call vote was taken, and motion passed, 5 – 2. Cheryl Maggio and Randy Olson voted No. Mary immediately assumed the office and presided over the remainder of the meeting. Mary remarked that, as a board, “We will disagree in future, but will continue to study, discuss, and vote in a spirit of democracy.”

Parliamentarian – Judy moved to table the contract for a board parliamentarian to a future date. Gloria and Cheryl seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Budget amendment – Judy moved and Randy seconded to table the transfer of funds from Corporate to Land Acquisition for an indefinite period of time. Motion passed unanimously.

Revisions to Forest Preserve District Code – Randy moved and Judy seconded to approve the ordinance to revise the Code. Randy pointed out that the change to Section 2.7.F2 looked like the same as 2.7.H. Mike Scheurich clarified the difference. Two revisions that were added since the ordinance was laid over are 2.7D – Order of Agenda – “Approval of agenda” and “Committee” reports. A roll call was taken. Motion passed unanimously. Copies of the Code as revised will be sent to all Commissioners.

Bill payment process – Randy moved and Audrey seconded to approve the process for the payment of District bills. Judy explained that the State Attorney recommended that the Board fulfill its fiduciary responsibility by a hands-on examination of the District’s bills before approval. Motion passed unanimously.

Payment of bills – August bills were presented to the Board for their approval. Tom Kalousek explained that Steve Chapman reviewed each invoice and authorized the payment of pre-paid bills, such as those for payment of utilities. Questions were asked of certain items and discussion followed. Motion passed unanimously.

Land Advisory Council – Audrey Johnson moved to reinstitute the Land Advisory Council which disbanded about two years ago. Lee Johnson seconded. Audrey, who served on the Council for many years, described the Council as a citizen’s advisory group which deliberated on prospective land acquisitions and prioritized them in the light of their location, natural habitat, and preservation. Motion passed unanimously. Audrey is the Chair of the Committee reviewing the Land Advisory Council and its role in the District. This Committee will make recommendations to the Board at a future date.


Position of Director of Public Safety and Risk Management – Judy moved and Audrey seconded to amend the resolution presented at the July 18 board meeting to defund this position. “Defund” is changed to “Eliminate”. “Effective July 18, 2012” is changed to “Effective September 12, 2012”. This resolution will be placed on the September 5 agenda. Motion passed unanimously.

Finance Committee will meet on August 24 at 10:00 AM at District Headquarters.

Meeting adjourned at 6:04 PM.
Next board meeting Wednesday, September 5, District Headquarters

Judi Day
Recording Secretary