Laona Heights Sugar River Colored Sands Sugar River Two Rivers Ferguson Hartley Memorial Trask Bridge Four Lakes Pecatonica River Pecatonica Wetlands Crooked River Grove Creek Seward Bluffs Klehm Forest Preserve Severson Dells Fuller Memorial Cedar Cliff Indian Hill Hinchliff Memorial Kilbuck Bluffs Trailside Kishwaukee Gorge South Kishwaukee Gorge North Rockford Rotary Kishwaukee River Oak Ridge Blackhawk Springs Deer Run Espenscheid Memorial McKiski County Line Kieselburg Roland Olson Stone Bridge Clayton Andrews Ledges Hononegah J. Norman Jensen Millrace Isle Macktown Atwood Homestead Forest Preserve Headquarters

Board of Commissioner Minutes Dec. 9

Winnebago County Forest Preserve District
District Headquarters
December 9, 2010 – 6:30 PM

Randy Olson – President Thomas Kalousek, Executive Director
Mary McNamara Bernsten Tom Hartley, Development
Judy Barnard Jamie Johannsen, Marketing
Jay Ferraro Mike Scheurich, Attorney
Cheryl Maggio Judi Day, Budget
Audrey Johnson Nancy Sylvester, Parliamentarian
Gloria Lind

Judge Brian Dean Shore Marilyn VanBuskirk Richard Lind
Amber Naraiello Lil Ferraro Robyn Ferraro
Barbara McNamara John McNamara Clyde J. Wills
Geri Nikolai Jerry Paulson Tracey Buckler
Autumne Nimmo Jes Buckler Loren J. Hainchek
Amanda Maggio Jan Herbert Marvin Winckler

At 6:30 PM Attorney Mike Scheurich introduced Judge Brian Dean Shore who performed the swearing in ceremony of the new Commissioners.

Attorney Mike Scheurich did a roll call with all Commissioners present.

1. Forest Preserve District Code–including Rules of Order and Procedure – Jay Ferraro moved to adopt the revised District Code. Audrey Johnson moved to include the Pledge of Allegiance before the inspirational reflection at all meetings in Section 2-7-D, Meetings. Motion carried with addition of Pledge of Allegiance.

2. Election of President and Vice President – Jay Ferraro nominated Randy Olson as President. Cheryl Maggio nominated Mary McNamara Bernsten as Vice President. There were no other nominations, and they were, therefore, elected to their respective offices.

3. Appointment and confirmation of District officers
• District Secretary & Assistant Secretary – Randy Olson nominated Gloria Lind as Secretary and Judi Day as Assistant Secretary.
• District Treasurer & Assistant Treasurer – Audrey Johnson nominated Judy Barnard as Treasurer and Steve Chapman as Assistant Treasurer.
• District Executive Director – Mary McNamara Bernsten nominated Thomas Kalousek as Executive Director. There were no other nominations, and they were, therefore, appointed to their respective offices.

4. Authorization for payment of bills and other services – Judy Barnard moved to approve authorization for payment of bills and other services with Winnebago County. Motion carried.

5. Schedule of Board meetings for 2011 – Gloria Lind moved to approve the schedule of Board meeting for 2011. Motion carried.

6. Agreement with Sheriff’s Department for patrol services – Gloria Lind moved to lay over the agreement with Sheriff’s Department for patrol services and all were in agreement.

7. Board training and parliamentary procedure – Nancy Sylvester reported on parliamentary procedure and board training that she will be conducting on Monday, January 3, 2011, at 6:30 PM at District Headquarters. Tom Kalousek would like the Board to consider keeping Nancy Sylvester as a coach and mentor for the Forest Preserve District Board.

Tom Hartley reported on County Line Forest Preserve, the former Knox property, with a history of the events leading to the purchase of the Verona property. The purchase was made possible primarily from grants from Grand Victoria Vital Lands and Illinois Clean Energy Community Foundation. Judith Barnard requested a letter of appreciation from this Board to all parties that made this property available to the Forest Preserve District.

All Commissioners thanked everyone and reported on the great team and will make strides and long lasting efforts to do the best for the Forest Preserve District.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:23 PM by President Randy Olson.
Next Board meeting – 6:30 PM Monday, January 3, 2011, at District Headquarters

Evelyn Winckler
Recording Secretary