Laona Heights Sugar River Colored Sands Sugar River Two Rivers Ferguson Hartley Memorial Trask Bridge Four Lakes Pecatonica River Pecatonica Wetlands Crooked River Grove Creek Seward Bluffs Klehm Forest Preserve Severson Dells Fuller Memorial Cedar Cliff Indian Hill Hinchliff Memorial Kilbuck Bluffs Trailside Kishwaukee Gorge South Kishwaukee Gorge North Rockford Rotary Kishwaukee River Oak Ridge Blackhawk Springs Deer Run Espenscheid Memorial McKiski County Line Kieselburg Roland Olson Stone Bridge Clayton Andrews Ledges Hononegah J. Norman Jensen Millrace Isle Macktown Atwood Homestead Forest Preserve Headquarters

Board of Commissioner Minutes May 20, 2020

Forest Preserves of Winnebago County


Preserves Headquarters

May 20, 2020


PRESENT                                                     STAFF

Judy Barnard – via phone                              Mike Holan, Executive Director

Mike Eickman                                                Steve Chapman, Finance

Audrey Johnson                                             Ann Wasser, Education

Gloria Lind – via phone                                  Kim O’Malley, Human Resources/Volunteer Program

Cheryl Maggio

Jeff Tilly – via phone

Jake Henry



No guests due to the COVID-19 pandemic.



The meeting was called to order at 5:33 PM, by Vice-President Mike Eickman.  Recording secretary Ronelle Olszewski called the roll.


PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE     Mike Eickman led the assemblage in the Pledge of Allegiance.


APPROVAL OF AGENDA and MINUTES      Minutes for April 15, 2020 were approved.  No changes or additions were made to the agenda.



Bills for April – Audrey Johnson made a motion and Cheryl Maggio and Jeff Tilly seconded to authorize the payment of the bills for April 2020 in the amount of $390,655.43.  Motion passed unanimously. 



Quarterly Finance Report – Steve Chapman presented the Quarterly Finance Report.



New Forest Preserve Attorney – The Preserves are in need of a new attorney.  Proposals have been submitted.  Interview questions will be prepared by Judy Barnard and the interviews will be conducted via phone in the next couple of weeks.  Mike Holan will set up those interviews.


Grant Update – Clean Energy approved the Preserves grant in the amount of $316,750 plus $10,000 for restoration for the Lithuanian Club and the Ferguson property.  The closing is scheduled for June 18.


COVID-19 Update – All Preserves and Headquarters are on track for re-opening on June 1.  Summer camps are starting to be planned.  There is no opening date as of this date for the Campgrounds.



Preserve Operations – Vaughn Stamm, Scott Stewart, Scott Wallace, and Bryan Helmold submitted a written report.


Golf Operations – Vaughn Stamm, Rich Rosenstiel, Tyler Knapp and Mark Freiman submitted a written report.  Mike Holan announced that the weekends have been very busy with the two-somes that are allowed on the golf courses.  As of this date there is no definite re-opening date.


Land and Development – Natural Resources Staff submitted a written report.


Marketing and Community Relations – Jamie Johannsen submitted a written report.


Environmental Education – Ann Wasser submitted a written report.  Ann also announced there are virtual wildflower walks happening that are available on YouTube and the Severson Dells website.    Ann also announced that Severson was awarded a grant from NOAH to provide watershed education to the RPS 205 after school program.


Human Resources/Volunteer Program Report – Kim O’Malley submitted a written report.  In addition, Kim announced the First REAP volunteer work day is scheduled for June 20 at Four Lakes at 9:00 a.m.


Law Enforcement – Sheriff’s Department submitted a written report.



A motion was made by Jeff Tilly to lay on the table the Executive Director evaluation until the June meeting, Gloria Lind seconded the lay on the table motion.  Motion passed.  The evaluation of Executive Director Mike Holan will be discussed in closed session at the June meeting.



Meeting adjourned at 6:01 PM.

Next board meeting 5:30 PM, Wednesday, June 17, 2020, Preserve Headquarters



Respectfully Submitted,

Ronelle Olszewski

Recording Secretary