Laona Heights Sugar River Colored Sands Sugar River Two Rivers Ferguson Hartley Memorial Trask Bridge Four Lakes Pecatonica River Pecatonica Wetlands Crooked River Grove Creek Seward Bluffs Klehm Forest Preserve Severson Dells Fuller Memorial Cedar Cliff Indian Hill Hinchliff Memorial Kilbuck Bluffs Trailside Kishwaukee Gorge South Kishwaukee Gorge North Rockford Rotary Kishwaukee River Oak Ridge Blackhawk Springs Deer Run Espenscheid Memorial McKiski County Line Kieselburg Roland Olson Stone Bridge Clayton Andrews Ledges Hononegah J. Norman Jensen Millrace Isle Macktown Atwood Homestead Forest Preserve Headquarters

Board of Commissioners Minutes April 19

Winnebago County Forest Preserve District
District Headquarters
April 19, 2011 – 6:30 PM

Randy Olson – President Thomas Kalousek, Executive Director
Mary McNamara Bernsten Drake Branca, Operations
Judy Barnard – arriving 6:47 PM Tom Hartley, Development
Jay Ferraro Mike Durand, Golf
Cheryl Maggio Jamie Johannsen, Marketing
Gloria Lind Steve Chapman, Finance
Vaughn Stamm, Southeast Manager
Audrey Johnson GUESTS
John McGovern
Chad Miller
Lenae Weichel
At 6:33 PM President Randy Olson requested Evelyn do a roll call with six Commissioners present.

PLEDGE of ALLEGIANCE and INSPIRATIONAL REFLECTION – Cheryl Maggio presented the Pledge of Allegiance and Inspirational Reflection.

Minutes for March 15, 2011 were approved.

Introduction—new Director of Preserve Operations (May 16) – Drake Branca introduced Vaughn Stamm who will be the new Director of Operations starting May 16. Vaughn started as an intern 18 years ago working for the Forest Preserve District and is looking forward to all the challenges of his new position. The Board welcomed him.

Bow hunting in the preserves – Randy introduced Chad Miller who reported on bow hunting most of his life and being interested in conservation. Chad would like a bow hunting program in the forest preserves to draw visitors and provide a financial gain for the District.

Committee regarding Land Advisory Council –Mary McNamara Bernsten reported on the Land Acquisition Council Meeting (LAC) she attended with Audrey Johnson, Gloria Lind, Tom Kalousek and Tom Hartley on March 30. Mary reported the Commissioners role is to be developed and understood before the formation of a LAC. A LAC formed should have four purposes: identifying land parcels for acquisition, networking with landowners, development of a donor bank with the possibility of establishing a foundation, and establishing a parcel ranking system for land acquisition.

Committee regarding strategic planning – Judy Barnard reported on two Strategic Planning Committees meetings. The current District strategy document was created in 1999 and all agreed it would provide a good foundation. Pam Clark Reidenbach from the Northern Illinois Center for Non-profit Excellence gave a presentation April 11 to Judy Barnard, Audrey Johnson, Cheryl Maggio, Mary McNamara Bernsten, Tom Kalousek and Jamie Johannsen. Ms. Reidenbach suggested 2-2½ hour training sessions.

Strategic planning consultant proposal – Judy moved, seconded by Mary to approve the proposal from Northern Illinois Center for Non-profit Excellence at a cost not to exceed $3,500. Motion passed unanimously. Dates for the planning to be determined.

RFQ – accessibility audit services – Tom Kalousek presented John McGovern who made a presentation on ADA accessibility and the need for audit services by March 15, 2012. Judy moved, seconded by Gloria Lind to approve the services of Recreation Accessibility Consultants for an accessibility audit for $73,490. Motion passed unanimously.

Establish standing Finance Committee – Randy presented Steve Chapman, Assistant Treasurer to the Board and County Administrator. Steve gave an overview of the Forest Preserve District budget. Cheryl reported she would like to see last year’s actual revenue which Steve will provide. Randy appointed Cheryl as the District liaison to meet with Steve Chapman on a regular basis or as needed. The Board thought a quarterly presentation on the budget was adequate for their purposes.

Farm lease – Cheryl inquired about farm leasing for the District to receive more revenue. Randy requested charging $175 an acre. The consensus of the Board is to farm one more year and charge $175 per acre for the Seward Bluffs acreage.

Fishing lease at Four Lakes – Tom Hartley presented a fishing lease for the Gasparini property directly west of Four Lakes Forest Preserve. Randy talked with Don Gasparini and he may be interested in leasing to the District. Tom Hartley reported there would be a development cost of $50,000 to cross a stream, culvert work, gravel path, outhouse, and fencing. The consensus of the Board is Randy will talk more with Don Gasparini and bring information back to the Board.

Presentation – Marketing and Community Relations – Jamie Johannsen presented a Power Point presentation on Marketing and Community Relations.

Golf maintenance – Mike Durand reported on a letter from neighbors in The Ledges and his response letter to them. Golf statistics are down now due to the weather.

Jay Ferraro wished to thank the District for the flowers sent for his mother’s funeral.

At 8:58 PM President Randy Olson closed the meeting to discuss land acquisition and leave of absence. Randy had Evelyn poll the members to close the meeting and all approved the motion. Motion passed unanimously to close the meeting. The meeting reopened at 9:23 PM. No action was taken in closed session.

Leave of absence – Jay moved, seconded by Mary to approve the leave of absence for a District employee. Motion passed unanimously.

• Letter from Natural Land Institute (NLI)– Jerry Paulson’s letter thanked the District for sponsoring the NLI Annual Dinner and Judy also thanked the District
• Atwood Award – April 27 at 5:00 PM at Cliffbreakers—contact Evelyn if you would like to attend
• IAPD legislative conference – May 3 and 4—contact Tom Kalousek by Wednesday morning

The meeting was adjourned at 9:25 PM by President Randy Olson.
Next Board meeting – 6:30 PM Tuesday, May 10, at Klehm Arboretum with tour at 5:00 PM

Evelyn Winckler
Recording Secretary