Laona Heights Sugar River Colored Sands Sugar River Two Rivers Ferguson Hartley Memorial Trask Bridge Four Lakes Pecatonica River Pecatonica Wetlands Crooked River Grove Creek Seward Bluffs Klehm Forest Preserve Severson Dells Fuller Memorial Cedar Cliff Indian Hill Hinchliff Memorial Kilbuck Bluffs Trailside Kishwaukee Gorge South Kishwaukee Gorge North Rockford Rotary Kishwaukee River Oak Ridge Blackhawk Springs Deer Run Espenscheid Memorial McKiski County Line Kieselburg Roland Olson Stone Bridge Clayton Andrews Ledges Hononegah J. Norman Jensen Millrace Isle Macktown Atwood Homestead Forest Preserve Headquarters

Board of Commissioners Minutes June 19, 2015

Winnebago County Forest Preserve District


Preserves Headquarters

June 19, 2015


PRESENT                                                                 STAFF

Judy Barnard                                                              Mike Holan, Executive Director

Audrey Johnson                                                         Tom Hartley, Land and Development

Gloria Lind                                                                  Mike Durand, Golf Operations

Cheryl Maggio                                                            Don Miller, Education

Mary McNamara Bernsten                                         Vaughn Stamm, Operations

Jeff Tilly                                                                      Steve Chapman, Finance



Mike Eickman




The meeting was called to order at 8:30 AM, by President Judy Barnard. Judy Barnard called the roll.


PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE     Audrey Johnson led the assemblage in the Pledge of Allegiance.


APPROVAL OF AGENDA and MINUTES     Minutes for May 20, 2015 were approved. No changes or additions were made to the agenda.



Bills for June – Audrey Johnson made a motion, Jeff Tilly seconded to authorize the payment of the bills for June 2015 in the amount of $717,158.27. Motion passed unanimously.


Prevailing wage – In order to comply with state statutes concerning bids on construction projects, the District is required to make available to any employers or contractors the prevailing rate of hourly wages for tradesmen in Winnebago County. The wage is to be posted and required for any contractors that are hired. Audrey Johnson made a motion, Mary McNamara Bernsten seconded, to approve a resolution to determine the general prevailing rate of hourly wages in Winnebago County. Motion passed unanimously.



Preserve Operations – Vaughn Stamm submitted a written report.


Golf Operations – Mike Durand submitted a written report.


Land and Development – Tom Hartley submitted a written report.


Marketing and Community Relations – Jamie Johannsen submitted a written report.


Education – Don Miller submitted a written report.


Law Enforcement – Terry Nordberg submitted written report.


Klehm Grant – Judy mentioned the grant Klehm received from Community National Railroad for planting 2000 perennials on a hill behind the building. With that Grant they had to enter Rockford in the American Bloom Contest.



Audrey Johnson made a motion to go into closed session at 8:38am. At 8:48am, the meeting returned to open session. No action was taken while in closed session.



June 19th – Owl Prowl at Seward Bluffs Forest Preserve starting at 8:00pm

June 28th – Live Bat Encounter in The Grove at Severson Dells Forest Preserve starting at 2:00pm


Mike announced the articles in the Northwest Quarterly Magazine about The Grove, Footgolf, and The Ledges.



Meeting adjourned at 8:50 AM.

Next board meeting 5:30 PM, Wednesday, July 15, Forest Preserve Headquarters.



Respectfully Submitted,

Kristine Knapp