Laona Heights Sugar River Colored Sands Sugar River Two Rivers Ferguson Hartley Memorial Trask Bridge Four Lakes Pecatonica River Pecatonica Wetlands Crooked River Grove Creek Seward Bluffs Klehm Forest Preserve Severson Dells Fuller Memorial Cedar Cliff Indian Hill Hinchliff Memorial Kilbuck Bluffs Trailside Kishwaukee Gorge South Kishwaukee Gorge North Rockford Rotary Kishwaukee River Oak Ridge Blackhawk Springs Deer Run Espenscheid Memorial McKiski County Line Kieselburg Roland Olson Stone Bridge Clayton Andrews Ledges Hononegah J. Norman Jensen Millrace Isle Macktown Atwood Homestead Forest Preserve Headquarters

Board of Commissioners Minutes May 20, 2015

Winnebago County Forest Preserve District


      Preserves Headquarters

      May 20, 2015


PRESENT                                                                 STAFF

Judy Barnard-by phone                                              Mike Holan, Executive Director

Mike Eickman                                                             Tom Hartley, Land and Development

Audrey Johnson                                                          Mike Durand, Golf Operations

Gloria Lind                                                                 Jamie Johannsen, Marketing

Cheryl Maggio                                                            Don Miller, Education

Mary McNamara Bernsten

Jeff Tilly



Carla Paschal – Sikich

Lee Johnson

Ray Ferguson



The meeting was called to order at 5:30 PM, by Vice President Audrey Johnson. Recording secretary Ronelle Johnson called the roll.


PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE     Mary McNamara Bernsten led the assemblage in the Pledge of Allegiance.


APPROVAL OF AGENDA and MINUTES     Minutes for April 15, 2015 were approved. No changes or additions were made to the agenda.



Sikich – Audit Report – Carla Paschal from Sikich presented the Annual Financial Report for the fiscal year ending October 31, 2014, and the board communication report. She explained the reports and highlighted a few items. She also reported the cooperation received from the Management was good and that the management has resolved any issues from last year’s audit.



Bills for May – Gloria made a motion, Mary seconded to authorize the payment of the bills for May 2015 in the amount of $523,964.01. Motion passed unanimously.



Preserve Operations – Vaughn Stamm submitted a written report.


Golf Operations – Mike Durand submitted a written report and announced that the advertising on the new tee signs are completed.


Land and Development – Tom Hartley submitted a written report.


Marketing and Community Relations – Jamie Johannsen submitted a written report. Additionally, Jamie announced that the Citizen Science and Stewardship volunteer programs are really doing well.


Education – Don Miller submitted a written report.


Law Enforcement – Terry Nordberg submitted written report.



Mike Eickman made a motion to go into closed session at 5:58. At 6:38pm, the meeting returned to open session. No action was taken while in closed session.



May 30th – Nature Fiesta/Get Outside! Winnebago Kickoff at Blackhawk Springs Forest Preserve from 12:00pm – 4:00pm

June 6th – Hooked on Fun Kids Fishing Derby at Four Lakes Forest Preserve from 8:00am – 12:00pm June 19th – Board Preserves Tour from 8:30am – 1:00pm



Meeting adjourned at 6:42 PM.

Next board meeting 5:30 PM, Wednesday, June 17, Severson Dells Forest Preserve. There will be a tour at 4:30 for those interested.



Respectfully Submitted,

Ronelle Johnson

Recording Secretary