Laona Heights Sugar River Colored Sands Sugar River Two Rivers Ferguson Hartley Memorial Trask Bridge Four Lakes Pecatonica River Pecatonica Wetlands Crooked River Grove Creek Seward Bluffs Klehm Forest Preserve Severson Dells Fuller Memorial Cedar Cliff Indian Hill Hinchliff Memorial Kilbuck Bluffs Trailside Kishwaukee Gorge South Kishwaukee Gorge North Rockford Rotary Kishwaukee River Oak Ridge Blackhawk Springs Deer Run Espenscheid Memorial McKiski County Line Kieselburg Roland Olson Stone Bridge Clayton Andrews Ledges Hononegah J. Norman Jensen Millrace Isle Macktown Atwood Homestead Forest Preserve Headquarters


Forest Preserve Board Election November 6, 2012

The second election of Commissioners for the Winnebago County Forest Preserve District board is coming up quickly! Eight candidates are running for three open seats in the Nov. 6 election. Lenae Weichel, Mike Eickman, Commissioner Audrey Johnson, Jeff Tilly and Eric Stromberg will compete for two seats, each a six-year term on the board. Commissioner Cheryl Maggio, Commissioner Lee Johnson and Bev Moore will compete for a two-year term. The two-year candidates are vying for the remainder of the term left by Commissioner Jay Ferraro who moved out of the county in 2011. The six-year terms are open due to incumbents Audrey Johnson and Cheryl Maggio completing the two-year terms they were elected to in 2010.

Shelter Additions at Hononegah

Two shelter houses at Hononegah Forest Preserve will be enhanced and expanded with additions constructed this fall. The existing Towering Pines and Indian Rest shelters will be complemented by new 16′ by 24′ open-air shelter areas that will provide amenities such as a buffet table, electrical outlets, and a grill area. The construction will make the shelters more versatile and pleasant for group picnic and events. Construction will be completed by mid-October, 2012. The shelter additions are funded through a grant from the State of Illinois.