Laona Heights Sugar River Colored Sands Sugar River Two Rivers Ferguson Hartley Memorial Trask Bridge Four Lakes Pecatonica River Pecatonica Wetlands Crooked River Grove Creek Seward Bluffs Klehm Forest Preserve Severson Dells Fuller Memorial Cedar Cliff Indian Hill Hinchliff Memorial Kilbuck Bluffs Trailside Kishwaukee Gorge South Kishwaukee Gorge North Rockford Rotary Kishwaukee River Oak Ridge Blackhawk Springs Deer Run Espenscheid Memorial McKiski County Line Kieselburg Roland Olson Stone Bridge Clayton Andrews Ledges Hononegah J. Norman Jensen Millrace Isle Macktown Atwood Homestead Forest Preserve Headquarters

Header Box Governance

Some of the most enjoyable natural areas the Midwest has to offer can be found within 20 miles of Rockford and are maintained by the Winnebago County Forest Preserve District. This entity was created in 1922 by the people of Winnebago County under the authority of the Illinois Downstate Forest Preserve Act of 1915 which states that forest preserve agencies:

“Acquire lands…for the purpose of protecting and preserving the flora, fauna and scenic beauties…and to restore, restock, protect and preserve…such lands together with their flora and fauna, as nearly as may be, in their natural state and condition…”