Laona Heights Sugar River Colored Sands Sugar River Two Rivers Ferguson Hartley Memorial Trask Bridge Four Lakes Pecatonica River Pecatonica Wetlands Crooked River Grove Creek Seward Bluffs Klehm Forest Preserve Severson Dells Fuller Memorial Cedar Cliff Indian Hill Hinchliff Memorial Kilbuck Bluffs Trailside Kishwaukee Gorge South Kishwaukee Gorge North Rockford Rotary Kishwaukee River Oak Ridge Blackhawk Springs Deer Run Espenscheid Memorial McKiski County Line Kieselburg Roland Olson Stone Bridge Clayton Andrews Ledges Hononegah J. Norman Jensen Millrace Isle Macktown Atwood Homestead Forest Preserve Headquarters

Land Advisory Council Meeting Minutes 2-2-15

Forest Preserves of Winnebago County


Land Advisory Council

Minutes of Meeting

February 2, 2015


Members Present: Jerry Paulson, Chairman, Ann Marie Cain, Steve Clark, Pam Cunningham, Rebecca Olson, Dan Williams and Randy Vogel. Members Absent: Bill Hoff, Lee Johnson and James Marshall, FPWC Staff Present: Mike Holan, Tom Hartley, and Jamie Johannsen. FPWC Commissioners Present: None. Guests Present: Collin Bell and Colleen Hoesley, Rockford Metropolitan Agency for Planning.


Call to Order: Chairman Paulson called the meeting to order at 4:10 p.m. at the FPWC headquarters, 5500 Northrock Drive, Rockford, Illinois.


Adoption of Agenda: It was moved by Williams, seconded by Cain and approved to adopt the agenda as distributed.


Minutes of December 1, 2014 meeting: It was moved by Vogel, seconded by Cunningham and approved to accept the minutes of the December 1, 2014 meeting as distributed.


Greenways Plan Update: Johannsen introduced the staff from RMAP who are heading up the update of the Greenways Plan. RMAP is responsible for planning for transportation projects in the Rockford region, including bike paths and hiking trails. The agency is updating the Boone-Winnebago Greenways Plan as part of the Long Range Transportation Plan. Open space agencies from Rockford, Belvidere, Boone and Winnebago counties are all involved with the update. The plan includes goals and objectives for “Green Infrastructure” including parks, preserves, trails, and conservation areas in the two counties. The FPD uses the “Critical and Sensitive Areas” on the map to guide land acquisition. These are generally land located in the 100-year floodplain, but the update will include a 150-foot buffer, areas with steep slopes (12.5% or greater + 150’ buffer) and National Wetland Inventory wetlands.


FPD staff have reviewed the map and provided additional information about priorities. The plan will be available for public review then sent to the agencies, municipalities and county boards for approval. The LAC members looked at the draft maps and made several additions and corrections.


Closed Session for Discussion of Land Acquisition: Williams moved to go into closed session to consider the acquisition of land; Olson seconded the motion and it was approved. The meeting was closed at 5:15 p.m.


Opening of Closed Session: It was moved by Williams and seconded by Clark, and approved to reopen the meeting. The meeting was reopened at 5:40 p.m. Paulson declared that no action was taken in closed session.


Acquisition of Addition to McKiski Forest Preserve: It was moved by Vogel and seconded by Williams to recommend the acquisition of 215 acres of land south of Cherry Valley as an addition to McKiski Forest Preserve. The property is owned by the Village of Cherry Valley, is mostly flood prone farmland, is designated “Critical and Sensitive Area” in the Greenways Plan, and can be restored for wildlife habitat and limited recreational use. The motion was adopted unanimously. Paulson will present the recommendation to the FPD Board on February 18th.


Next Meeting: Paulson said that the District has identified funds to hire a facilitator to work with the LAC to develop a Strategic Land Conservation Plan. It was agreed to meet next at 4:00 p.m. on Monday, March 2, 2015 at the WCFP headquarters to start the planning process. Williams and Clark will not be able to attend the meeting.


Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 5:45 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,



Jerry Paulson, Chairman