Laona Heights Sugar River Colored Sands Sugar River Two Rivers Ferguson Hartley Memorial Trask Bridge Four Lakes Pecatonica River Pecatonica Wetlands Crooked River Grove Creek Seward Bluffs Klehm Forest Preserve Severson Dells Fuller Memorial Cedar Cliff Indian Hill Hinchliff Memorial Kilbuck Bluffs Trailside Kishwaukee Gorge South Kishwaukee Gorge North Rockford Rotary Kishwaukee River Oak Ridge Blackhawk Springs Deer Run Espenscheid Memorial McKiski County Line Kieselburg Roland Olson Stone Bridge Clayton Andrews Ledges Hononegah J. Norman Jensen Millrace Isle Macktown Atwood Homestead Forest Preserve Headquarters


Snowmobiling is an exciting and popular winter pastime and is allowed in six of the forest preserves. Pecatonica Wetlands, Pecatonica River, Four Lakes, Sugar River, Seward Bluffs and Two Rivers are available for snowmobiling. Trails will be posted open when there are at least four inches of snow on the ground. Maps displayed at each preserve’s information structure indicate trails. Snowmobiling is not allowed at other forest preserves and is at the operator’s own risk.

Snowmobiling Trails & Safety Tips

Snowmobiles are allowed on designated trails in these preserves:
Pecatonica River
Pecatonica Wetlands
Four Lakes
Sugar River
Two Rivers
Seward Bluffs

Snowmobiles cannot be on the trails after 10 PM. Refer to our policy.

Winter recreation (cross-country skiers, snow shoe, skating, and sledding) are allowed in the preserves after dark, although some of the preserve gates will be locked. Many of the access roads allow room for skiers to park their cars off the roadway in front of the locked gates including: Kieselburg, Hononegah, Kishwaukee River (west), Seward Bluffs, Sugar River, Pecatonica River, Deer Run and Kishwaukee Gorge. Gates will be open at Oak Ridge and Blackhawk Springs (Perryville).